Product Spotlight: DW double-bass pedal

You know that Drum Workshop’s doing something right when even anti-double bass pedalists think that the DW pedal cool.

Before this revolutionary design, double bass players had the reputation of being overindulgent, arrogant and show-offy. Since DW released this, drummers have been able to explore the sound provided of two double basses without actually having two–thereby freeing them from the associated arrogance. (Although, perhaps contrarily, Tommy Lee–the most arrogant drummer in rock history–was one of the first major proponents of the DW pedal).

These have since become the standard, used heavily (literally) by metal bands. Here’s a common metal beat played with a double-bass pedal:

That said, I could never get down with the double bass. When people ask me why, I tell them it’s partly due to the limiting beats available with a double bass (for fear of getting my face pummeled, I’m not gonna say that all metal songs sound the same… but you know…). But here’s the main reason: After years of playing on a single bass, I’ve think it’s extremely difficult to add that next level of ambidexterity to drum playing. So even though I’m a bit stubborn in my ways, I’m in complete awe of those who can play on a double bass.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment